Explain MySQL to me like I’m 5

DA-LION-619

I have a PHP app using MySQL 5.7.18(so the folder says) running on Windows,
Can’t change the OS or the app but anything else is fair game.

I basically need to know before anyone else the wheels are coming off, understanding MySQL from a SQL Server perspective would help(checkpoints, tempdb etc.)

So give me the TLDR, best practices and tricks also the tools you’ll are using to manage all of this.

This isn’t dev related, I’m not writing SQL or trying to boost query performance. The solution to bad performance will be more resources.

biometrics

I've been using PHP, MySQL and Codeigniter for ten years. I might be able to help. But I'm not sure what your question is?

DA-LION-619

I've been using PHP, MySQL and Codeigniter for ten years. I might be able to help. But I'm not sure what your question is?
My knowledge of MySQL is definitely incorrect, but I’ve heard there’s different modes to how the engine works.
What are pros and cons of those modes?

If transaction log backups fail in MSSQL, it’s a sign that things are going south.
What would the MySQL indicators be and if there’s tooling to highlight and deal with these issues.
Commercial tools are fine.

Then the common stuff like what approach to backups is followed in the MySQL circle, are diff backups done hourly or is it daily full backups etc.

biometrics

My knowledge of MySQL is definitely incorrect, but I’ve heard there’s different modes to how the engine works.
What are pros and cons of those modes?

If transaction log backups fail in MSSQL, it’s a sign that things are going south.
What would the MySQL indicators be and if there’s tooling to highlight and deal with these issues.
Commercial tools are fine.

Then the common stuff like what approach to backups is followed in the MySQL circle, are diff backups done hourly or is it daily full backups etc.
With MySQL you want to use InnoDB rather than MyISAM as it allows transactions.