Looking for compatible shell for HP I5 bs1xx

Blantyre

My casing badly damaged and it appears that some components inside may be loose as the WIFI card has been behaving weirdly and the CD from and SD port don't function.

Does anyone know where I can get a decently priced shell from?

Also what will be a decent price to get it fitted for? I'm a noob and not adept at this stuff so will need an experienced person to do it.

I phoned a local guy and he quoted me R1200 if I get him a shell which seems like robbery.

BloodrayneZA

I phoned a local guy and he quoted me R1200 if I get him a shell which seems like robbery.
For that price, I would rather dish out and pay for a new laptop. As said in previous sentence, if things appear to be loose, then it's time to buy a new one or even 2nd hand. Not worth replacing the shell for R1200.

Blantyre

Thanks for the advice guys. I cancelled the order from Amazon. I was intending to pay R1k for the shell.

I just thought it might be worth repairing because I sold a Lenovo G50 two years ago for R600 and the guy told me it cost him about R1400 to repair. It had a faulty hinge and charging port so thought that one was beyond repair.

Blantyre

Is it worth repairing? You can get a used one for R4,200:
Maybe yes, it has been held together by Pattex PowerGlue for the last year. I just got another bottle and hopefully it can do the trick for as long as possible until it eventually retires.

biometrics

Maybe yes, it has been held together by Pattex PowerGlue for the last year. I just got another bottle and hopefully it can do the trick for as long as possible until it eventually retires.
Well the casing is just there to stop you from electrocuting yourself.

Blantyre

Well the casing is just there to stop you from electrocuting yourself.